Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Memory of the 8 Run/Walk

Why We Run for the Memory of the 8

Please join us on Saturday, September 16 for the Memory of the 8 Run/Walk. Registration starts at 9:00 am and the 5K and 8 mile runs start at 10:30 am. On September 16, 2001 eight of the University of Wyoming's cross-country running team tragically lost their lives in an automobile accident caused by a drunk driver. 

Cody Brown (Hudson, CO)
Kyle Johnson (Riverton, WY)
Joshua Jones (Salem, OR)
Justin Lambert-Belanger (Timmins, Ontario)
Kevin Salverson (Cheyenne, WY)
Nicholas Schabron (Laramie, WY)
Shane Shatto (Douglas, WY)
Morgan McLeland (Gillette, WY)

They are no longer with us, but will never be forgotten. We run to honor their memory and to raise awareness about the dangers of driving under the influence. It's up to each and every one of us to make the right choice, save a life, and always drive sober - these tragedies are avoidable!