Join us September 16, 2014 for a memorial run/walk, followed by a BBQ, in memory of: Justin Lambert-Belanger, Morgan McLeland, Cody Brown, Kyle Johnson, Josh Jones, Kevin Salverson, Nick Schabron, and Shane Shatto.

Flying 8

“This memorial run is a wonderful way for people to honor our eight former Cowboys,” said current University of Wyoming cross country coach Randy Cole. “The people of Gillette have put a lot of effort into organizing this event, and we encourage people to support this worthwhile tribute to the memory of these young men.”
Memorial Run/Walk

When: September 16, 2015

Where: M&K Oil                    
             901 South 4J Road  
             Gillette Wy               

What: 8 Mile Run or 5K Walk

Time: 5:00 p.m. Walkers     
          5:30 p.m. Runners     

Registration: There is no registration fee! However, donations are welcome. You can register on the day of the event from 4:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. or you can register online here:


Mile 1 - Dedicated to Cody Brown
Cody Brown (Junior, 5-11, Hudson, Colo., Psychology major)
• One of top milers in the program                                           
• Placed 33rd at the 2000 MWC Cross Country Championship
• Career-bests: 800-meter 1:55                                              
10000meter 34:20                
Mile run 4:27                        
8k 26:30                              

Mile 2 - Dedicated to Kyle Johnson
Kyle Johnson (Soph., 6-5, Riverton, Wyo., Civil Engineering major)
• One of team’s top five cross country athletes                               
• Placed 40th at the 2000 MWC XC Championship                          
• Career-bests: 800m: 1:59                                                            
1600m: 4:27                                 
8k: 28:08.9                                 

Mile 3 - Dedicated to Josh Jones

Joshua Jones (Sr., 6-0, Salem, Ore., Psychology major)
• One of top 800m runners for the Cowboys                 
• Career-bests: 400m 49.9                                            
        800m 1:56                         


Mile 4 - Dedicated to Justin Lambert-Belanger
 Justin Lambert-Belanger, undeclared sophomore in the College of 
 Arts and Sciences from Timmins, Ontario, and a transfer student
   from Campbell University. Awarded a Western Heritage Scholarship.

Mile 5 - Dedicated to Kevin Salverson
Kevin Salverson (Soph., 5-8, Cheyenne, Wyo., Undeclared major)
• One of the team’s top mid-distance runners                               
• Four-time all-state selection and two-time state champion        
• Career-bests: 800m 1:57                                                          
1600m 4:29.2                              

Mile 6 - Dedicated to Nick Schabron
Nick Schabron (Soph., 6-1, Laramie, Wyo., Architectural Engineering major)
• Placed 42nd at the 2000 MWC XC Championship                                       
• Wyoming 4A state runner-up in the mile in 2000                                       
• Won the mile run at the 2000 Wyoming Meet of Champions                     
• Career-bests: 800m 1:58.8                                                                       
1600m 4:29.5                                             

Mile 7 - Dedicated to Shane Shatto
     Shane Shatto, sophomore in mechanical engineering from Douglas; 
             Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity; Interfraternity Council representative to the Associated Students of UW. Awarded a High School Honor Scholarship.


Mile 8 - Dedicated to Morgan McLeland
Morgan McLeland (Soph., 5-10, Gillete, Wyo., Undeclared major)
• 3-time all-state selection in cross country at Campbell County HS
• Wyoming state champion in cross country senior year                  
• Set course record at 2000 state championships                            
• Career-best: 800-meter: 1:59                                                       

 Steamboat Memorial

Last updated: 8/25/2015 11:49:40 AM